‘Who is your daddy? And what does he do?’

Have you seen the movie Kindergarten Cop? Y’know, the one with Arnold Schwarzenegger where he’s the bad ass cop turned loving teacher of five year olds. And little Miko Hughes, the nightmare child of Pet Semetary, telling everyone that boys have penises and girls have vaginas.

"When did he become hot?"

“When did little Miko become hot?”

I’m off track. Anyway, when I decided to write my first blog post, I searched for ideas on the Internet, and every suggestion seemed to say, “Who are you? What do you enjoy doing?” My pop-culture addled brain immediately went to the early 90’s movie classic where Arnold as John Kimble, in search of a boy and his mother to save them from the boy’s psychopath yuppie father, asks all the kids “Who is your daddy? And what does he do?”

So, who am I? I’m a twenty-something living in Metropolitan Area, Square State who wants to be a writer. I know, SO original. I can’t help it though. I’ve been writing since I was 9 years old. First, I wrote what I saw on television or in movies (like Stephen King, as expressed in his book On Writing). Eventually, I took requests from classmates and teachers. In my teens, I felt a deep depression come over me and I couldn’t write more than poetry. Most of it being emo and stuff I will probably never ever share.

Because I love me some cake!

Because I love me some cake!

Thankfully, the depression of my teens left me and I came roaring into my 20s searching for my purpose. I thought about all the things I loved doing and I decided writing was my strongest skill. Otherwise, I’d be a singer, and I would prefer not being compared to William Hung from America Idol fame.

So here I am. This is what I do.

I don’t have any idea what I hope to accomplish on this blog other than write, create, find people with whom to relate, and kill time. I will try to be witty (and most likely fail), offer as much advice as a non-published writer can give, and I hope to entertain you. Feel free to say hi. I’ll be around.

Talk to me. I'm lonely.

